A Night of Achievements

A Night of Achievements Photo

The early June Bayport-Blue Point Board of Education meeting celebrated multiple districtwide achievements, praising students and staff alike, for their contributions toward maintaining a flourishing learning environment.

To begin the night’s recognitions, multiple district kindergarten through fifth-grade students were rewarded with tokens of appreciation from the Board for their performances/artistic projects in the PTA Reflections Arts Program Contest. To qualify for recognition by the PTA, these students utilized their creativity to formulate projects spanning multiple categories all with the central theme of “What is your story?” in mind. In addition to the students celebrated for their success on the regional level, Sylvan Avenue Elementary student Charlotte Passamonte was honored for winning the Award of Merit at the state level for her dance routine. According to their website, PTA Reflections is a nationally acclaimed student recognition program to encourage artistic creativity in the classroom and at home. 

Bayport-Blue Point High School’s 19 summa cum laude students were also recognized by the Board for their years of hard work and maintaining a grade point average above 96.5 by the end of their academic careers. Congratulations to Matthew Abruzzese Ott, Abigail Auwaerter, Christopher Bartolini, Davis Bates, Abby Brewer, Christian Buckheit, Matthew Califano, Jayne Cudia, Abigail Edgeller, Olivia Ingrassia, Kraig Klein, Allyson Koehler, Jillian Lessing, Joshua Lurie, Jacob Ocon, Peter Prisinzano, Amanda Salva, Patricia Shiebler and Philip Tubiolo. 

The Board also granted tenure to multiple staff members throughout the district for their continued successes in their buildings. Congratulations to Rosemarie Castilletti, Samantha Demeusy, Roy Deyo, Gina Eisles, Bayley Everitt, Robert Haas and Andrew Peshkur.

Additionally, this year’s retirees of the Bayport-Blue Point School District were recognized by the Board for their many years of service and dedication to the district community. Congratulations and best of luck to Pamela Austin, Jean Brown, Jacqueline DeCanio, Maria Gomes, O’Myra Petrocine and Maureen Raemdonck.