Night of Honor

The district’s Board of Education and administrative team honored several students and professionals for their educational accomplishments during a recent Board meeting.

Four students were recognized for their award-winning research projects that were entered into and placed at the Brookhaven Lab Science Fair. The Board proudly presented the following students with certificates of accomplishment and celebrated their scientific success: Sylvan Avenue Elementary School fifth-grader Emily Elizabeth Denton (first-place winner); Sylvan second-graders Alyssa Nicole Ayerle and Michael John Clare (honorable mention winners); and Academy Street Elementary School fourth-grader Olivia Lauren Goldstein (honorable mention winner).
Additionally, the 20 retirees with a combined 300+ years of service were thanked for their commitment to Bayport-Blue Point School District and wished a happy a healthy retirement. This year’s retirees included:
Teaching Assistant: Alicia DeMatteo (MS)
Custodial: Richard Fallica (HS) and Joe Sherlo (HS)
Food Service: Mary Ramirez (MS) and Patricia D’Orazio (MS)
Clerical: Nancy DeRossi (HS), Roseann Higgins (DO) and Dot Hlywa (ACA)
Clerical Sub: Elizabeth Martin (DO)
Nurse: Kay Ingram (MS)
Teacher: Bev Maler (ACA & BP), Russ McCormack (HS), Anthony Murphy (ACA), Theresa Murphy (HS) and Deb Stocker (HS)