Contest Winners Ride Home in Style

Just before the approaching holiday break, the winners of this year’s fire safety poster contest at Blue Point Elementary School, which was sponsored by the Blue Point Fire Department, received a ride home from school to remember. Three winners from each grade level proudly boarded several of the departments’ fire trucks and were treated to a ride through neighboring streets before arriving at their homes.

The winners were selected based on their artistic drawings, which urged their peers to take care when it comes to a fire and provided tips to remember in order to remain safe.

Congratulations to this year’s winners and special thanks to their art teachers, Beverly Maler and Carly Gayer, for helping them create their winning entries.

Madalynn Schmidt
Kylee Thornton
Brooke Walling

First Grade
Matthew Decatur
Brendan Mattimore
Charlotte Volpe

Second Grade
Maggie Boyd
Jessica Cuji
Emma Rand

Third Grade
Gia Cline
Isabella Coluccio
Liam Stemmler

Fourth Grade
Kelsey Bowen
Ashley Costanzo
Riley Duerr

Fifth Grade
Alyssia Furchert
Brendan Grogan
Annie McAward